31 cities team up for standardized smart city initiative

Thirty-one European and Brazilian cities gathered at CeBIT 2015 and agreed to collaborate on an initiative to standardize smart city services across the region.

European Union flag. Credit: European Union

The cities are comprised of 25 cities from six European Union (EU) countries (Belgium, Denmark, Finland, Italy, Portugal and Spain) and six cities in Brazil. The Open & Agile Smart Cities Task Force (OASC) is a collaboration to help municipalities and startups create smart city services within their area.

“Very few mechanisms are in place to support the digital transition of cities and societies, which in complexity is on the scale of the green transition, if not bigger,” explains Martin Brynskov, chair of the Connected Smart Cities (CSC) Network Board, which oversees the OASC Task Force. “Open & Agile Smart Cities shows a very concrete way forward with mechanisms that everyone can implement, for the benefit of everyone.”

The initiative will utilize FIWARE, a platform funded by the EU and created as a part of the Startup Europe program. Startup Europe is a program created as a commitment by the EU “to help entrepreneurs thrive in Europe.” The technical specifications of FIWARE have helped the project move forward quickly.

“FIWARE provides enhanced OpenStack-based cloud hosting capabilities and a rich library of components,” according to the EU. “These components, called the ‘Generic Enablers’, provide open standard APIs (Application Programming Interfaces) that make it easier to connect to Internet of Things devices, process data and media in real-time at large scale, perform Big Data analysis or incorporate advanced features to interact with the user. In FIWARE, API specifications are public and royalty-free, supported by open source reference implementations.”

The OASC collaboration will make use of sensors and other analytics to give cities and companies the tools to understand their city. The devices will gather, publish and analyze the data in real-time. The information learned by the smart cities will be collected and standardized for use by other cities. Those smart city services provided will be easily accessible and downloadable to municipalities across the world.

EU signing cities are: Brussels Capital Region, Ghent, Antwerp, Copenhagen, Aarhus, Aalborg, Helsinki, Tampere, Espoo, Vantaa, Oulu, Turku, Milan, Palermo, Lecce, Lisbon, Porto, Penala, Fundão, Palmela, Águeda, Valencia, Santander, Málaga, and Sevilla. The participating Brazil cities are: Olinda, Anapólis, Porto Alegra, Vitória, Colinas de Tocantins, and Taquaritinga.

According to the Connected Smart Cities Network, any city in the world is open to joining the program — as long as they sign up at least two cities within a country.

For more:
– visit this website

Related articles:
Enel launches incubator for smart grid, smart cities businesses
Solar eclipse will offer insight into the future of the grid
Renewable energy globally to more than double in 2025