Department of
Social Sciences and Humanities

You are here: Home


The Administrative Office of the Department of Social Sciences and Humanities is located in the Hospital founded by Cardinal Pedro de Salazar at the beginning of the XVIII century, which now hosts the Faculty of Philosophy and Letters of the University of Córdoba.

The Faculty is situated in the heart of the historical centre of the city, declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO in 1995. The building stands behind the celebrated Mosque-Cathedral of Córdoba, one of the most visited monuments in the world.

The Department is constituted by five academic areas: Philosophy, Sociology, Social Anthropology, Moral Philosophy, and Historiographical Sciences and Techniques. Currently, it is composed of a team of 21 people including teaching and research staff and administrative staff. The Department of Social Sciences and Humanities develops its activity in different Faculties and Schools: Faculty of Philosophy and Letters, Faculty of Scienses, Faculty of Science of Education, Faculty of Labour Sciences, and Technical School of Agronomists.